414 Plays

Mercury Music Prize 2011

Lauren Laverne has announced the Barclaycard Mercury Prize '2011 Albums of the Year'. Addressing an expectant audience at The Hospital Club in London, Lauren revealed the twelve albums shortlisted for this year's Barclaycard Mercury Prize. They are:

Adele - 21

Anna Calvi - Anna Calvi

Elbow - Build A Rocket Boys!

Everything Everything - Man Alive

Ghostpoet - Peanut Butter Blues and Melancholy Jam

Gwilym Simcock - Good Days At Schloss Elmau

James Blake - James Blake

Katy B - On A Mission

King Creosote & Jon Hopkins - Diamond Mine

Metronomy - The English Riviera

PJ Harvey - Let England Shake

Tinie Tempah - Disc-Overy

“This year’s Barclaycard Mercury Prize shortlist highlights the remarkable possibilities of what can be achieved with music – the grand gesture and telling detail, albums that are dramatic, ambitious and artful, emotional and affectionate, funny and profound,” says Simon Frith, Chair of Judges. “Much of the music here evokes a sense of place and time, providing a wonderful snapshot of Britain’s varied musical life.”



Latest Playlists
137 Tracks, 7 hours, 20 minutes